As Congress prepares to vote this month on whether to give the President the authority to strike Syria, a majority of NY members -including Senators Gillibrand and Schumer – remain undecided.

This afternoon, Secretary of State John Kerry and Defense Secretary Chuck Hagel will testify before the House Foreign Affairs committee – their second appearance on Capitol Hill in just 24 hours.

Reps. Engel, Higgins, Meeks and Meng sit on the committee. Engel, the top Democrat on the panel, is a strong supporter of taking action against Syria. Higgins has said he will vote no. Meng and Meeks are undecided.

When I caught up with Meeks this morning, he suggested his vote was largely contingent upon whether the President could assemble an international coalition.

“iIt shouldn’t be a U.S. strike,” said Meeks. “It should be an international strike, because if something does go wrong, and we don’t in this instance, then it’s just the U.S., and the U.S. didn’t’ become the country that’s isolated against the rest of the world. We should not be isolated against the rest of the world. It should be all of the rest of the world together to isolate the individuals that violated the international standard,” referencing U.S. intelligence that shows the Assad regime used chemical weapons on civilians.

Below is our list. Keep in mind it is quite fluid. We’ll be updating it as we continue to get responses.


Rep. Peter King (R-2nd District)

Rep. Steve Israel (D-3rd District)

Rep. Michael Grimm (R-11th District)

Rep. Eliot Engel (D-16th District)


Rep. Nydia Velazquez (D-7th District)

Rep. Charles Rangel (D-13th District)

Rep. Chris Gibson (R-19th District)

Rep. Paul Tonko (D-20th District)

Rep. Tom Reed (R-23rd District)

Rep. Brian Higgins (D-26th District)


Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY)

Sen. Charles Schumer (D-NY)

Rep. Timothy Bishop (D-1st District)

Rep. Gregory Meeks (D-5th District)

Rep. Grace Meng (D-6th District)

Rep. Hakeem Jeffries (D-8th District)

Rep. Yvette Clarke (D-9th District)

Rep. Carolyn Maloney (D-12th District)

Rep. Jose Serrano (D-15th District)

Rep. Nita Lowey (D-17th District)

Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney (D-18th District)

Rep. Bill Owens (D-21st District)

Rep. Richard Hanna (R-22nd District)

Rep. Dan Maffei (D-24th District)

Rep. Louise Slaughter (D-25th District)

Rep. Chris Collins (R-27th District)


Rep. Carolyn McCarthy (D-4th District)

Rep. Jerry Nadler (D-10th District)

Rep. Joseph Crowley (D-14th District)