From the Morning Memo:

The Business Council’s political action committee on Thursday will formally unveil its endorsements for the state Legislature as the group seeks to push back what it sees as an attack on “pro-growth” efforts in the state.

“The 2018 elections are shaping up to be among the most important in our state’s history,” said Business Council Heather Briccetti .

“With pro-growth, pro-jobs messaging under attack on multiple fronts, and the competitive challenges facing New York’s business community, it is critically important that New York taxpayers elect lawmakers who understand the role business plays in our state’s economic health. The lawmakers and candidates endorsed by The Business Council PAC have demonstrated a commitment to the issues most important to our members.”

The group is backing largely Republican lawmakers in both the Assembly and the state Senate, endorsing GOP candidates running this year in key swing districts, including Bob Antonacci, Tom Basile, Elaine Phillips, Annie Rabbit, Marty Golden, Terrence Murphy, Sue Serino and Jeff Pravato, among others.

The PAC is supporting two Democratic lawmakers: Sen. Todd Kaminsky, a Long Island lawmaker, and Brooklyn Sen. Simcha Felder, a Democrat who is allied with Republicans and helps them retain their narrow majority in the chamber.

Democrats hope a handful of races on Long Island, the Hudson Valley and one in central New York will give them a full majority next year and flip the chamber for the first since 2009.

The Business Council could face a range of legislative challenges next year, including the growing push for the adoption of a single-payer health care system in New York, which Democrats in the Legislature are running on as a top issue.

The full list of endorsements is after the jump.


William A. Barclay (R, 120th) – incumbent
Karl Brabenec (R, 98th) – incumbent
Kevin M. Byrne (R, 94th) – incumbent
Clifford W. Crouch (R, 122nd) – incumbent
Brian Curran (R, 21st) – incumbent
Michael Cusick (D, 63rd) – incumbent
Joe DeStefano (R, 3rd)
David DiPietro (R, 147th) – incumbent
Gary D. Finch (R, 126th) – incumbent
Michael J. Fitzpatrick (R, 8th) – incumbent
Christopher S. Friend (R, 124th) – incumbent
Andy Goodell (R, 150th) – incumbent
Pamela J. Hunter (D, 128th) – incumbent
Billy Jones (D, 115th) – incumbent
Brian M. Kolb (R, 131st) – incumbent
Peter Lawrence (R, 134th) – incumbent
Nicole Malliotakis (R, 64th) – incumbent
John T. McDonald III (D, 108th) – incumbent
David G. McDonough (R, 14th) – incumbent
Brian D. Miller (R, 101st) – incumbent
Philip A. Palmesano (R, 132nd) – incumbent
Anthony H. Palumbo (R, 2nd) – incumbent
Crystal D. Peoples-Stokes (D, 141st) – incumbent
Dan Quart (D, 73rd) – incumbent
Edward P. Ra (R, 19th) – incumbent
Sean Ryan (D, 149th) – incumbent
Angelo Santabarbara (D, 111th) – incumbent
Steve Saperstein (R, 46th)
Robin Schimminger (D, 140th) – incumbent
Mark Walczyk (R, 116th)
Monica P. Wallace (D, 143rd) – incumbent
Mary Beth Walsh (R, 112th) – incumbent
Raymond Walter (R 146th) – incumbent
Carrie Woerner (D, 113th) – incumbent


Fred Akshar (R, 52nd) – incumbent
George A. Amedore (R, 46th) – incumbent
Bob Antonacci (R, 50th)
Tom Basile (R, 39th)
Phil Boyle (R, 4th) – incumbent
Janet Burman (R, 53rd)
Simcha Felder (D, 17th) – incumbent
John J. Flanagan (R, 2nd) – incumbent
Patrick M. Gallivan (R, 59th) – incumbent
Martin J. Golden (R, 22nd) – incumbent
Kemp Hannon (R, 6th) – incumbent
Pamela Helming (R, 54th) – incumbent
Chris Jacobs (R, 60th) – incumbent
Todd Kaminsky (D, 9th) – incumbent
Kenneth P. LaValle (R, 1st) – incumbent
Betty Little (R, 45th) – incumbent
Carl L. Marcellino (R, 5th) – incumbent
Terrence Murphy (R, 40th) – incumbent
Dean Murray (R, 3rd)
Thomas F. O’Mara (R, 58th) – incumbent
Robert G. Ortt (R, 62nd) – incumbent
Elaine Phillips (R, 7th) – incumbent
Jeff Pravato (R, 8th)
Sue Serino (R, 41st) – incumbent
Annie Rabbitt (R, 42nd)
Michael H. Ranzenhofer (R, 61st) – incumbent
James Tedisco (R, 49th) – incumbent
C. Scott Vanderhoef (R, 38th)
Catharine Young (R, 57th) – incumbent